about The City

City of Tshwane

South Africa’s Capital City, the City of Tshwane, is situated in the province of Gauteng, the economic centre of South Africa. As the seat of government, Tshwane is the country’s administrative hub and houses 134 embassies, 30 international organisations making it second only to Washington DC in terms of the concentration of the diplomatic and foreign missions. It is also home to over 30 Johannesburg Stock Exchange-listed companies as well as various multinational companies.

The city is home to four universities and various research institutes and its knowledge and information industry is well-developed. Tshwane has a high literacy rate, a large concentration of financial and business services in the region, support of educational institutions and communication infrastructure, including broadband capacity.

Visit Tshwane

With many tourist attractions and business facilities, The City is a popular destination for travellers with a rich history of offerings that include the Dinokeng Nature Reserve, Groenkloof Nature Reserve, Freedom Park, Union Buildings and the Voortrekker Monument.